Museum of the Riverina Australia, Wagga Wagga

Museum of the Riverina

The Museum of the Riverina is a local history museum in Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia. The Riverina is the region in south-western New South Wales in which Wagga Wagga is located. The museum was established by Wagga Wagga and District Historical Society in 1967 (Morris, p. 241) in premises near the Wagga Wagga Botanic Gardens on Lord Baden Powell Drive.

In the late 1990s, Wagga Wagga City Council took over the operation of the museum. In 1999 the Historic Council Chambers, on the corner of Baylis and Morrow Streets, were converted into a second site for the museum following the opening of the new Wagga Wagga Civic Centre. The Historic Council Chambers site hosts travelling exhibitions while the Botanic Gardens site is home to the Sporting Hall of Fame and the museum's permanent collection, including a set of figurines from the Tichborne case.

The museum provides a regional outreach service to 38 Riverina museums.