Matsu Islands China, Fuzhou

Matsu Islands

The Matsu Islands are a minor archipelago of 36 islands and islets in the East China Sea administered as Lienchiang County under streamlined Fujian Province, Republic of China (ROC). It is the smallest county in Taiwan.

Only a small area of what is historically Lienchiang County is under the control of the ROC. The People's Republic of China (PRC) administers the part of the historical county on mainland China as Lianjiang County, which claims the entire archipelago to be its Mazu Township (馬祖鄉; pinyin: Mǎzǔ Xiāng; Mā-cū-hiŏng). Kinmen is the other archipelago along the coast of Fujian that is controlled by the ROC.