Kyushu Japan


Kyushu or Kiushu is the third biggest island of Japan and most southwesterly of its four main islands. Its alternative ancient names include Kyūkoku , Chinzei , and Tsukushi-no-shima . The historical regional name Saikaidō referred to Kyushu and its surrounding islands.

In the 8th century Taihō Code reforms, Dazaifu was established as a special administrative term for the region.

As of 2016, Kyushu has a population of 12,970,479 and covers 36,782 square kilometres (14,202 sq mi).