Jeju Province South Korea

Jeju Province

Jeju Province, officially the Jeju Special Administrative Province, Jeju S.A.P., is one of the nine provinces of South Korea. The province is situated on and conterminous with the nation's largest island of Jeju, formerly transliterated as Cheju, Cheju Do, etc., or known as Quelpart to Europeans. The island lies in the Korea Strait, southwest of South Jeolla Province, of which it was a part before it became a separate province in 1946. Its capital is Jeju City.

Jeju Special Administrative Province has independent visa policy which varies from that of the Republic of Korea mainland. So, all ordinary passport holders excluding those from Afghanistan, Cuba, Ghana, Iraq, Kosovo, Libya, Macedonia, Nigeria, Palestine, Sudan or Syria can stay visa-free 30 days in Jeju Special Administrative Province, even if they normally require a visa for Republic of Korea mainland. Domestic flight doesn't require anything of identification, but exceptively, all people who try to enter the mainland of South Korea from Jeju Special Administrative Province must bring National Citizen ID Card (Korean:주민등록증) or passport with proper visa.